The best in Sports and Finance

Why We Don’t Always Tell the Truth

When I was growing up, one of the principles in our house was that we had to tell the truth, no matter how painful it might be. Lying, we were taught, wasn’t something you could get away with. Like Pinocchio’s nose, it would be apparent to others.

Children of course need clear rules to learn the difference between right and wrong. However as we get older, the truth becomes more nuanced — and there are times when a little white lie or the absence of some key facts might be appropriate. The problem is that all of us have different standards for when, why, and how we shade the truth. These divergent ‘shades of gray’ then cause miscommunication, breakdowns of trust, and other dysfunctional behaviors. That’s why, despite the inclusion of “integrity” in almost every value statement, some form of lying is common in most companies.

From my experience, there are three fundamental concerns that cause people to shade the truth, either consciously or not. Being aware of these “lying triggers” can sometimes help to improve communication and reduce the feelings of mistrust.

Impact of the truth on yourself: It’s human nature to want people to think well of us, particularly those who have influence over our lives and careers. At the same time we all make mistakes, so we create justifications and excuses — many of which are at best half-truths. I recall a manager whose key project was behind schedule, largely due to his lack of discipline and follow-up. Yet when asked why the project was lagging, he blamed a snowstorm (from six months previously) for slowing down the work.

Impact of the truth on others: One way to gain others’ approval is to avoid pointing out things that may damage their self-image. As a result, many people withhold some or all of their true thoughts about others. For example, a senior executive complained to me recently that one of his managers never gave her people negative criticism during performance reviews. To justify that behavior, she said that it was better to reinforce positive behaviors rather than point out weaknesses — a strategy that also happened to make her popular with her team. The senior executive however was convinced that her drive to be well liked was doing the team a disservice, because they didn’t know what they could do to improve.

Impact of the truth on business success: To be successful almost every organization needs to sell — be it a product, a service, a story, or a promise. But much of that selling is done without truthful disclosure of what it will take to fulfill the sale. That’s why product salespeople will often take an order without revealing to the customer that there may be supply problems, or why a CEO will tout the benefits of an acquisition without mentioning the challenges of integration. Showing customers or partners what’s truly behind the curtain could undermine credibility and threaten the deal. The wiser course in many cases is to limit the truth and figure out how to “deliver” later.

It’s easy to be judgmental about all these situations and to insist on absolute truth at all times. But people don’t work that way, and neither do organizations. As managers, the best we can do is to be more aware of why we avoid or shade the truth — and make sure that it’s an appropriate time to do so.

 

26 responses

  1. I simply want to mention I’m new to blogging and absolutely savored your blog. Likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You actually have impressive well written articles. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your website page.

    02/25/2012 at 9:08 PM

  2. Definitely, what a magnificent site and revealing posts, I will bookmark your website.Best Regards!

    02/27/2012 at 10:44 PM

  3. I must say this content was worth to read. I found this post through the google search and was rather astounded by your rank for this article.

    02/29/2012 at 4:41 AM

  4. My daughter bookmarked this link and i also came here accidentally. Thanks a great deal for this post! A real good read. I dont have a lot of time at this time to write a lot of my own opinions, however, if I come back tomorrow evening, I will explain why I must say i dig using this type of article.

    02/29/2012 at 7:24 AM

  5. you might have a wonderful weblog here! would you wish to make some invite posts on my weblog?

    02/29/2012 at 8:24 AM

  6. I like this site very much so much excellent information. “If little else, the brain is an educational toy.” by Tom Robbins.

    02/29/2012 at 2:32 PM

  7. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours nowadays, but I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is lovely price enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the net will be a lot more helpful than ever before. “It’s all right to have butterflies in your stomach. Just get them to fly in formation.” by Dr. Rob Gilbert.

    02/29/2012 at 2:35 PM

  8. Very interesting details you have mentioned , regards for posting . “It is seldom that liberty of any kind is lost all at once.” by David Hume.

    02/29/2012 at 2:39 PM

  9. But a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great design. “Make the most of your regrets… . To regret deeply is to live afresh.” by Henry David Thoreau.

    02/29/2012 at 4:22 PM

  10. I genuinely enjoy reading through on this site, it has got excellent articles . “You should pray for a sound mind in a sound body.” by Juvenal.

    02/29/2012 at 7:37 PM

  11. I believe this website holds very fantastic indited subject matter content.

    02/29/2012 at 8:13 PM

  12. naturally like your web site however you have to test the spelling on several of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very bothersome to tell the reality then again I¡¦ll certainly come again again.

    02/29/2012 at 9:39 PM

  13. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    02/29/2012 at 10:51 PM

  14. Thanks for this post, I am a big fan of this site would like to go on updated.

    02/29/2012 at 11:18 PM

  15. Hey There. I found your web site utilizing bing. This can be a really properly composed report. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and arrive back to study a lot more of the usefull information. Many thanks for the article.mortgage banker new york

    03/01/2012 at 12:05 AM

  16. As a Newbie, I am permanently searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

    03/01/2012 at 1:57 AM

  17. Im impressed. I dont think Ive met anyone who knows as much about this topic as you do. Youre truly properly informed and extremely intelligent. You wrote something that folks could comprehend and made the subject intriguing for everybody. Genuinely, wonderful blog youve got here.

    03/01/2012 at 6:54 AM

  18. We still cannot quite think I could be one of those studying the important points found on your web site. My family and I are seriously thankful for the generosity and for giving me the chance to pursue my own chosen career path. Thanks for the important information I got from your web-site.

    03/01/2012 at 7:14 AM

  19. Useful post. And to be on-topic with this post, I don’t know for you girls but to me hair is really the most important factor for my look. My hair stilist on the saloon where I go offered me around 2 months ago some kind of hair oil that will make my hair grow faster and thicker. I don’t want to spam this blog so, who wants to find more details can click on my nick name.Also sorry for my bad english 🙂

    03/05/2012 at 2:19 AM

  20. I enjoy you because of your whole hard work on this web page. My daughter delights in setting aside time for investigations and it’s really easy to see why. Most people learn all about the dynamic form you render valuable guidance via the web blog and as well inspire contribution from some others on the theme plus our own girl has been becoming educated a lot. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the new year. You’re the one performing a splendid job.

    03/05/2012 at 8:16 AM

  21. I was just looking for this information for a while. After six hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your web site. I wonder what is the lack of Google strategy that do not rank this kind of informative sites in top of the list. Generally the top web sites are full of garbage.

    03/08/2012 at 4:02 AM

  22. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

    03/12/2012 at 1:55 PM

  23. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

    03/13/2012 at 1:42 AM

  24. I saw a lot of website but I conceive this one has got something extra in it. “Two souls with but a single thought, Two hearts that beat as one.” by Fredrich Halm.

    03/13/2012 at 2:51 AM

  25. You made various fine points there. I did a search on the topic and found the majority of persons will have the same opinion with your blog.

    03/13/2012 at 3:33 AM

  26. you are really a good webmaster. The web site loading speed is incredible. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a magnificent job on this topic!

    03/13/2012 at 6:39 AM

Leave a Reply

