The best in Sports and Finance

Christie: Buffett Should ‘Write a Check and Shut Up’

New Jersey Governor Chris Christie said billionaire investor Warren Buffett, who called for the nation’s wealthiest people to pay more taxes, should “just write a check and shut up.”

“I’m tired of hearing about it,” Christie told CNN’s Piers Morgan in an interview that aired last night. “If he wants to give the government more money, he’s got the ability to write a check. Go ahead and write it.”

Christie, a 49-year-old first-term Republican known for a blunt and caustic style, has proposed a 10 percent income-tax cut for every New Jersey resident. Democrats who control the Legislature say his plan would favor the rich. A family with a $50,000 annual income would pay $80 less under his plan, while someone earning $1 million would save $7,200, Democrats say.

Democrats “want you to be angry because your neighbor makes more than you do,” Christie said today at a town-hall meeting in Palisades Park. “That’s not the New Jersey I know, and it’s not the America that I know.”

Buffett, the 81-year-old chairman of Berkshire Hathaway Inc. (BRK/A), has urged Congress to raise taxes on millionaires to cut the U.S. deficit. In a New York Times op-ed last year, Buffett wrote that his federal income-tax bill was $6.94 million, or 17.4 percent of his taxable income — a lower rate than any of the other 20 employees in his Omaha, Nebraska, office.

Party to Madness

Buffett, a Democrat, endured scorn from Republicans last year after he called the Tea Party approach to budget talks “insane” and proposed raising $500 billion by taxing the richest Americans. President Barack Obama has called for a minimum rate of 30 percent for those with incomes of $1 million or more a year and dubbed the idea “the Buffett Rule.”

White House press secretary Jay Carney dismissed Christie’s comment when asked about it today at a briefing.

“That’s a quip that tries to draw attention away from what is a very serious issue, which is the need to have a tax code that’s fair,” Carney said. “Quips aside, we think the Buffett Rule is absolutely an important principle to apply to individual tax reform.”

Christie, during a press briefing in Palisades Park today, repeated that Buffett should pay more taxes if he wants to.

Cut a check and shut up — that’s what I say,” Christie said. “I’m tired of hearing it. If he wants to pay more taxes, pay more. I know I’ve given up any chance for post-gubernatorial employment at Berkshire Hathaway.”

Carrie Kizer, Buffett’s assistant, didn’t immediately return an e-mail or telephone call seeking comment on Christie’s statements.

National Attention

Christie’s comments have brought him national attention. In October, he spurned calls to run for president, and has endorsed former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney.

Christie has called a lawmaker “numbnuts,” urged reporters to “take the bat out” on a 76-year-old legislator and called union leaders “political thugs.”

The governor, who vetoed a bill to legalize gay marriage and wants it put to a popular vote, told its supporters last month that blacks would have been pleased to have their civil rights decided that way.

“People would have been happy with a referendum on civil rights rather than fighting and dying in the streets of the South,” Christie told reporters Jan. 24 in Bridgewater.

He was accused of ignorance by leaders including Georgia Representative John Lewis, a civil-rights movement veteran who was beaten by Alabama state troopers. Lewis came to Trenton to denounce the governor, who later apologized.

Jon Stewart, a New Jersey native and host of the satirical Daily Show, lampooned Christie last night for his veto.

“I was very proud last Friday to say the state Legislature, the state where I grew up, voted to legalize gay marriage,” Stewart said. “Unfortunately, like most events in New Jersey, it was immediately thrown off course by a loud Italian guy.”

 

25 responses

  1. I just want to mention I am just new to blogging and site-building and definitely savored you’re page. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You actually have fantastic stories. Thanks a lot for sharing your website page.

    02/26/2012 at 3:41 AM

  2. Well I sincerely enjoyed reading it. This subject offered by you is very helpful for good planning.

    02/28/2012 at 5:20 AM

  3. you have a great blog here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

    02/29/2012 at 5:04 AM

  4. You got a quite superb website, Glad I noticed it through yahoo.

    02/29/2012 at 6:05 AM

  5. Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was looking for!

    02/29/2012 at 7:14 AM

  6. Hey there! This is type of off idea but I necessity most assist from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up the own blog? I’m not quite techincal but I can figure points out very fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure the place to start. Do you possess any guidelines or suggestions? With appreciate

    02/29/2012 at 7:41 AM

  7. Only wanna comment on few general things, The website layout is perfect, the subject matter is real excellent. “I have seen the future and it doesn’t work.” by Robert Fulford.

    02/29/2012 at 7:47 AM

  8. I wanted to put you this little note just to thank you the moment again for the spectacular principles you’ve discussed here. It is so incredibly generous of people like you in giving extensively exactly what numerous people would’ve made available as an ebook to get some money for themselves, certainly seeing that you might have tried it in the event you wanted. Those ideas additionally acted to be the great way to realize that other people online have the identical zeal the same as my very own to figure out great deal more with regard to this matter. I’m certain there are numerous more enjoyable instances ahead for those who scan your blog.

    02/29/2012 at 9:30 AM

  9. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to grasp a lot approximately this, such as you wrote the ebook in it or something. I think that you could do with a few percent to force the message home a bit, but other than that, that is magnificent blog. An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

    02/29/2012 at 2:55 PM

  10. Absolutely indited subject material, appreciate it for information. “Necessity is the mother of taking chances.” by Mark Twain.

    02/29/2012 at 3:20 PM

  11. Helpful info. Fortunate me I found your web site unintentionally, and I am surprised why this accident didn’t took place earlier! I bookmarked it.

    02/29/2012 at 9:41 PM

  12. Keep up the excellent piece of work, I read few content on this internet site and I believe that your weblog is rattling interesting and holds sets of great info .

    02/29/2012 at 10:20 PM

  13. You are my intake , I own few web logs and rarely run out from to post .

    02/29/2012 at 11:03 PM

  14. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already

    02/29/2012 at 11:08 PM

  15. Seriously, what a blog! I mean, you just have a fantastic deal of guts to go forward and tell it like it’s. You happen to be what running a weblog should have, an open minded superhero who isn’t frightened to tell it like it truly is. This is certainly something people need to be up on. Very good luck inside the foreseeable future, man.

    03/01/2012 at 3:44 AM

  16. You’ve got observed quite interesting details ! ps decent internet site .

    03/01/2012 at 4:34 AM

  17. Hello there, I discovered your website by the use of Google whilst searching for a comparable topic, your website came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    03/01/2012 at 6:06 AM

  18. I would like to consider the chance of thanking you for your professional advice I have constantly enjoyed viewing your site. I’m looking forward to the particular commencement of my school research and the complete preparing would never have been complete without dropping by your web blog. If I can be of any help to others, I would be delighted to help via what I have gained from here.

    03/01/2012 at 6:22 AM

  19. Great post. And just to be on-topic with this post, I don’t know for you girls but for me hair is really the most important aspect for my look. My hair stilist from the saloon where I go offered me for about two months ago some type of hair oil which will make my hair grow faster and thicker. I don’t want to spam this blog so, who wants to find more details can click on my user name.Also i’m sorry for my poor english 🙂

    03/05/2012 at 3:50 AM

  20. I really wanted to write down a simple word so as to say thanks to you for all of the amazing guidelines you are writing at this website. My particularly long internet lookup has now been honored with useful facts and techniques to go over with my friends and family. I would point out that many of us site visitors are very much endowed to be in a fabulous site with many awesome individuals with very beneficial points. I feel truly happy to have come across your webpages and look forward to tons of more fabulous times reading here. Thanks a lot once again for everything.

    03/05/2012 at 8:27 AM

  21. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a weblog website? The account helped me a appropriate deal. I had been just a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided brilliant transparent concept 475480

    03/12/2012 at 9:43 AM

  22. Pingback: URL

  23. This web site is really a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll definitely discover it.

    03/13/2012 at 1:59 AM

  24. You made some fine points there. I did a search on the theme and found the majority of persons will go along with with your blog.

    03/13/2012 at 2:37 AM

  25. I am curious to find out what blog platform you have been utilizing? I’m having some minor security problems with my latest website and I’d like to find something more safe. Do you have any suggestions?

    03/13/2012 at 7:08 AM

Leave a Reply

