The best in Sports and Finance

Tall Sales (3)

Learn and Earn

A business has both internal and external customers (employees and clients), says Gaynor. It’s basic math: Please both groups, and sales go up. And his employees often need a pat on the back: “Salespeople, in general, ride emotional roller coasters. They frequently run into rejection,” says Tony Alessandra, author of The Sales Manager’s Idea-a-Day Guide: 250 Ways to Manage and Motivate a Winning Sales Team–Every Selling Day of the Year (Dartnell).

But it’s hard to enjoy your job-and thrive in it–if your brain matter is hardening. Hence Learning to Learn, a five-week, three-hour-a-week required course for all employees. They learn how to retain information, and everybody is assigned to read newspapers, magazines and two books:Tuesdays With Morrie (Doubleday) and Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Scholastic Trade).

“The average person forgets 50 percent of what they listen to [within] the next day,” Gaynor says. “They forget 90 percent of what they listened to within a week. And within a month, it’s virtually forgotten altogether.” Scary stuff, when your sales meetings are packed with information. But Gaynor remains enthusiastic that TNG can overcome the stubborn memory by giving reading a critical role in the learning process. In fact, it was a book–Timothy Gallwey‘s The Inner Game of Work (Random House)–that inspired Gaynor to make his company “a learning-based organization.”

The book has since become the company bible. The main theme in Inner Game is this, says Gallwey: “The potential of human beings to learn from their work experience is not fully taken advantage of. To do this requires acknowledging the way in which individuals, teams and corporate culture can interfere with the worker’s learning and potential expression of excellence.”

“Salespeople, in general, ride emotional roller coasters. They frequently run into rejection.”

That is a philosophy Gaynor takes to heart. New employees attend an intense three-week seminar, where they study the workplace culture, the complicated computer system and specific sales tactics. Common stuff, of course. Most successful companies offer training.

But then Gaynor’s employees take Learning to Learn, and some time later, they move into Learning to Learn: Level Two. Mann, an instructor, explains: “We go into a more in-depth understanding of the principles of The Inner Game of Work, such as mobility, focus, redefining work, thinking like a CEO and coaching for managers.”

When employees reach Level Three, they study personal and professional development. And Level Three, Mann says, “will never end.”

Impressive? Or a waste of time and money? “It is an investment,” argues Alessandra. “For instance, IBM has found that for every dollar they invest in training, they get $25 in return. Of course, if you’re looking to save money, training is one of the first things an entrepreneur will cut.”

Indeed, several months after implementing TNG’s learning programs, Gaynor saw customer satisfaction rise to 90 percent. Turnover virtually stopped. And Knight talks of one training success story regarding a woman who had never touched a computer before coming to TNG. “For two weeks, she cried every day,” he says. But he stuck with her and had her spend an extra week in training.

Says Gaynor, “She ended up being the first to do $1 million in sales. She’s still the sales leader on the floor.”

28 responses

  1. I simply want to mention I am just new to blogs and honestly loved you’re web site. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You definitely have terrific well written articles. Thanks a bunch for sharing your website.

    02/25/2012 at 5:24 PM

  2. I just want to tell you that I am newbie to blogging and site-building and definitely loved this web site. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your site . You definitely come with wonderful posts. Regards for sharing with us your web site.

    02/26/2012 at 12:35 AM

  3. I’m not certain the place you’re getting your information, however good topic. I needs to spend a while finding out more or understanding more. Thank you for great info I was on the lookout for this information for my mission

    02/29/2012 at 4:21 AM

  4. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this web site with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the data. I’m bookmarking and is going to be tweeting this to my followers! Exceptional blog and outstanding style and style.

    02/29/2012 at 5:08 AM

  5. Thank you for your site post. Jones and I are actually saving to get a new guide on this matter and your blog post has made all of us to save our money. Your thinking really answered all our queries. In fact, above what we had thought of in advance of the time we found your wonderful blog. I actually no longer have doubts including a troubled mind because you have really attended to our needs right here. Thanks

    02/29/2012 at 11:15 AM

  6. Hello There. I found your weblog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

    02/29/2012 at 12:14 PM

  7. Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my blog thus i got here to “go back the prefer”.I am trying to find things to improve my website!I assume its good enough to use a few of your concepts!!

    02/29/2012 at 1:44 PM

  8. You got a very wonderful website, Glad I found it through yahoo.

    02/29/2012 at 5:22 PM

  9. hello!,I like your writing so much! share we communicate extra approximately your article on AOL? I require an expert on this space to unravel my problem. Maybe that’s you! Taking a look forward to peer you.

    02/29/2012 at 9:12 PM

  10. I¡¦ve recently started a blog, the information you offer on this website has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

    02/29/2012 at 9:50 PM

  11. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

    02/29/2012 at 11:10 PM

  12. You have mentioned very interesting points ! ps decent web site . “Every man over forty is a scoundrel.” by George Bernard Shaw.

    03/01/2012 at 12:10 AM

  13. That is some inspirational stuff. Never knew that opinions could be this varied. Be confident to keep writing.

    03/01/2012 at 3:35 AM

  14. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

    03/01/2012 at 3:49 AM

  15. Really great information can be found on website.

    03/01/2012 at 5:53 AM

  16. Thank you for all your work on this blog. My mum loves participating in investigation and it’s obvious why. A lot of people learn all regarding the lively manner you make insightful tips via your website and therefore invigorate participation from other people on the area plus our own daughter is actually learning a whole lot. Enjoy the remaining portion of the year. You’re carrying out a wonderful job.

    03/01/2012 at 6:15 AM

  17. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

    03/01/2012 at 6:40 AM

  18. You are my aspiration , I possess few web logs and infrequently run out from to brand : (.

    03/01/2012 at 7:56 AM

  19. I want to show my respect for your kind-heartedness for folks who really need help on this important subject matter. Your very own commitment to passing the solution all-around appears to be particularly significant and has really enabled many people much like me to arrive at their ambitions. The warm and helpful help entails a great deal to me and extremely more to my office colleagues. Regards; from each one of us.

    03/05/2012 at 8:13 AM

  20. Yay google is my queen helped me to find this great web site ! . “I believe half the unhappiness in life comes from people being afraid to go straight at things.” by William J. Locke.

    03/08/2012 at 8:08 AM

  21. I’d should examine with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I take pleasure in studying a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to remark!

    03/08/2012 at 9:30 AM

  22. I believe this internet site contains very superb written written content content .

    03/08/2012 at 1:07 PM

  23. I love what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and coverage! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve added you guys to our blogroll.

    03/08/2012 at 4:13 PM

  24. Hey i’m for the initial time here. I came across this board and I discover It seriously useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others as you aided me.

    03/12/2012 at 10:12 AM

  25. I dugg some of you post as I cogitated they were very useful very beneficial

    03/13/2012 at 12:58 AM

  26. I like this web site very much so much fantastic info .

    03/13/2012 at 2:33 AM

  27. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

    03/13/2012 at 5:01 AM

  28. I have been browsing on-line greater than 3 hours these days, but I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It’s pretty worth sufficient for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web shall be a lot more useful than ever before.

    03/13/2012 at 5:19 AM

Leave a Reply

