The best in Sports and Finance

Star Search

A stellar salesperson does not make a stellar sales manager . So . . . who does?

In assembling an ace sales team, you promoted your finest salesperson to sales manager. She’s smart and assertive, and unfailingly gets clients to sign on the dotted line. Fast forward several months: That employee is threatening to quit, morale is hovering around zilch, and you’re dazed from the fallout. What went wrong?

“It’s rare that a superstar salesperson makes a good sales manager,” says Herb Greenberg, co-author of How to Hire and Develop Your Next Top Performer: The Five Qualities That Make Salespeople Great (McGraw-Hill). The “blood running down their chin” drive of top sales performers isn’t what makes a great leader, he adds. “Think of the biggest sports stars. How many have gone on to become great coaches? Not many.”

That’s because the skill sets for each role are different. Super closers are motivated by their egos, which help them deal with rejection while simultaneously pushing forward. They also have a thrill for the chase and the high of closing a big deal, and a restlessness that keeps them in motion, not sitting around cubicles. But put those people behind desks, reading reports and delegating closes to others, and they become ineffectual mopes.

“I see salespeople get promoted to positions of authority because they were star performers,” notes Jennifer White, author of Drive Your People Wild Without Driving Them Crazy(Capstone/Wiley & Sons). “They really liked being the superstar, but the natural progression is to climb the corporate ladder. So they do, and they’re miserable because of it.”

Your ideal sales manager may not be a current employee. “It’s better to look outside the company for new talent,” says Stephan Schiffman, president of D.E.I. Management Group, a sales training company in New York City that has worked with more than 500,000 sales professionals since 1979. “Outside hires bring fresh ideas to an organization. In the highly competitive world of sales, this is key.”

When you search for new sales manager talent, look for these indicators of future failure or success:

Enormous egos need not apply. The sales manager’s job is to motivate, not overwhelm. “Never hire a sales manager with a big ego,” says White, “because it’ll bite you every time.”

Experience counts. Find someone who can get up to speed right away. “Don’t hire someone thinking you’ll train them,” White says. “You won’t. You don’t have time for it.”

Look for leadership and mentoring skills. “A good manager has lots of patience and follow-through ability,” counsels Greenberg.

Company fit. Seek out a manager comfortable in an entrepreneurial environment. White suggests asking prospects how they handle chaos and a fast-moving organization.

Details, details. Managers are responsible for running reports and knowing how to analyze outcomes. Says White, “Hire someone who understands the numbers and can drive the right results.”

Ability to delay gratification. Sales is about the immediate yes. Sales management is about mentoring, supporting and cajoling until you get it.

22 responses

  1. Wow! Thank you! I permanently needed to write on my site something like that. Can I take a part of your post to my blog?

    02/20/2012 at 7:12 PM

  2. I used to be very pleased to find this internet-site.I wished to thanks to your time for this wonderful learn!! I definitely enjoying each little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you weblog post.

    02/24/2012 at 11:55 PM

  3. I just want to tell you that I am just very new to blogging and site-building and honestly savored your blog. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your site . You really come with awesome stories. Regards for revealing your blog site.

    02/26/2012 at 12:36 AM

  4. Can I simply say what a aid to find somebody who actually is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know the best way to carry an issue to light and make it important. More individuals must read this and understand this aspect of the story. I cant believe youre no more fashionable since you definitely have the gift.

    02/26/2012 at 2:25 PM

  5. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this info for my mission.

    02/28/2012 at 2:23 AM

  6. An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!

    02/29/2012 at 1:44 AM

  7. Forgot to ask this, who did the art for the homepage? That drawing style seems familiar.

    02/29/2012 at 4:38 AM

  8. We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on. You have performed a formidable process and our entire community might be grateful to you.

    02/29/2012 at 1:15 PM

  9. Would love to forever get updated great web blog!

    02/29/2012 at 3:03 PM

  10. Perfectly pent subject material, regards for selective information. “No human thing is of serious importance.” by Plato.

    02/29/2012 at 4:18 PM

  11. Some truly choice posts on this website , saved to fav.

    02/29/2012 at 7:01 PM

  12. It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

    02/29/2012 at 7:26 PM

  13. I believe other website owners should take this site as an model, very clean and superb user friendly design and style . “Grant us a brief delay impulse in everything is but a worthless servant.” by Caecilius Statius.

    02/29/2012 at 7:50 PM

  14. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more consideration. I’ll probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info.

    02/29/2012 at 8:10 PM

  15. Good thorough ideas the following.You may wish to actually consider things like sausages. What exactly are you trying to find however?

    02/29/2012 at 9:26 PM

  16. I haven’t checked in here for a while as I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

    02/29/2012 at 10:15 PM

  17. Oh My Goodness. Everything is amazing! I wish I could have them all

    02/29/2012 at 10:27 PM

  18. I conceive this web site holds some real superb info for everyone : D.

    02/29/2012 at 11:32 PM

  19. What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively useful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to contribute & help different users like its aided me. Good job.

    02/29/2012 at 11:42 PM

  20. This web-site can be a walk-through rather than the info you wished about it and didn’t know who should. Glimpse here, and you will surely discover it.

    03/01/2012 at 2:12 AM

  21. Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was once a entertainment account it. Glance complicated to far delivered agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

    03/01/2012 at 7:27 AM

  22. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Superb work!

    03/08/2012 at 4:29 PM

Leave a Reply

