The best in Sports and Finance

Creative Sales Tactics

In today’s competitive marketplace, you’ve got to get creative if you want prospects to listen.

Most of us don’t associate the word “creative” with “selling.” For some, “creative” conjures up images of starving artists dressed in black, “trying to make a statement” with paint and old auto parts. “Creative” people wear berets and read The Village Voice. Salespeople wear ties and readThe Wall Street Journal.

At least those are the popular stereotypes. But don’t salespeople create things, too-like opportunity? Don’t salespeople create demand for products and services? Customer satisfaction? Wealth?

The nature of the sales process is, in fact, creative. A good salesperson creates demand where it doesn’t exist. He or she creates a message (the sales pitch) using various media (face calls, telephone calls, written presentations, slide shows) that influence an audience (the prospect). A salesperson explores new territories (cold calls), introduces new ways of thinking (persuades prospects) and makes the world a better place (provides customer satisfaction).

OK, maybe I’m overstating the case a bit. Lots of perfectly productive salespeople are nothing more than harvesters of existing business-they take orders, fill out paperwork, collect their commissions and go home. And they never break rules.

Those salespeople still play a role in our economy, although they’re on their way to being replaced by order-processing technology. But I’m here to talk about creative selling, the favorite activity of wild, vibrant, risk-taking sales fanatics-the Michelangelos of sales. These people use the power of ideas to create customer satisfaction and wealth for themselves and their companies.

Think of Creative Ideas
Ideas are scarce. They don’t exist until someone creates them. They can be copied, but only after the original hits the market. Because there’s nothing to compare them to, the price of an original idea is determined solely by perceived value. There is no competitive bidding or price shaving for market share-just the seller’s ability to create perceived value by presenting the idea as a solution to the buyer’s needs.

 

20 responses

  1. I consume close to 4 liters a week, I will start my week with around two and then go to on to a handful other groups. I think the more the better though.

    02/02/2012 at 12:34 AM

  2. I make sure to drink about four ounces a day, I’ll start my week with around 1 and then move on to several other groups. I think the the better the quality the better the choice.

    02/06/2012 at 11:42 AM

  3. You made a few good points there. I did a search on the theme and found a good number of persons will agree with your blog.

    02/09/2012 at 11:15 PM

  4. A pity, but I debate with this information. I actually do delight in your personal page however and will likely continue to keep moving in return for posts.

    02/14/2012 at 2:23 AM

  5. I simply want to mention I’m beginner to blogging and absolutely enjoyed your web blog. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your site . You surely come with good article content. Thanks a lot for sharing your web page.

    02/26/2012 at 4:50 PM

  6. Well I definitely liked reading it. This post procured by you is very useful for good planning.

    02/28/2012 at 1:05 AM

  7. URL

    so much wonderful information on here, : D. 135570

    02/29/2012 at 1:50 AM

  8. Pingback: URL

  9. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

    02/29/2012 at 4:08 AM

  10. I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for posting. “I would sooner fail than not be among the greatest.” by John Keats.

    02/29/2012 at 7:58 AM

  11. I like this site very much so much fantastic information.

    02/29/2012 at 11:04 AM

  12. Some truly wonderful blog posts on this site, thanks for contribution. “It is not often that someone comes along who is a true friend and a good writer.” by E. B. White.

    02/29/2012 at 12:14 PM

  13. I’d constantly want to be update on new content on this site, saved to bookmarks ! .

    02/29/2012 at 4:21 PM

  14. Thanks , I’ve just been searching for info about this topic for ages and yours is the best I have discovered so far. But, what about the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to the supply?

    02/29/2012 at 10:40 PM

  15. This would be the best weblog for every person who hopes to be familiar with this subject. You already know a terrific deal of its practically difficult to argue together with you (not too I personally would want…HaHa). You actually put a fresh spin on the topic thats been written about for years. Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

    03/01/2012 at 3:20 AM

  16. Forgot to ask this, who did the art for the homepage? That drawing style seems familiar.

    03/01/2012 at 3:38 AM

  17. I dugg some of you post as I cogitated they were handy extremely helpful

    03/01/2012 at 4:04 AM

  18. Real nice design and fantastic content , absolutely nothing else we require : D.

    03/01/2012 at 5:04 AM

  19. Just want to say your post is as surprising. The clearness in your post is merely nice and i can assume that you are an expert on this subject. Fine along with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to maintain updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

    03/01/2012 at 6:29 AM

  20. I genuinely enjoy looking at on this website , it holds excellent blog posts.

    03/01/2012 at 9:00 AM

Leave a Reply

